Solved No output from commands (help)

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by sahil04, May 20, 2016.

1. Hello,

I am new to Spigot community and I'm learning to work on java plugins for Spigot. However, I'm also learning java and I am not very experienced with it.

I tried making a simple, sort of a "hello world!" program, but somehow I managed to mess this up xD

Here's the code: http://pastebin.com/97aQefyh

As you can see in the program, I have defined (or at least attempted to), a command "hello" which returns a greeting to the player and broadcasts a test message on the server if executed by the player, or returns a stack trace "test" and a greeting if executed by the console.

The problem is when I execute this command, whether I am in-game, or from the console, it returns no output. The console shows a line [Info] /hello but that's it. For some reason, it does not show any greeting or broadcasts any message at all.
    I'm using this website as a guide, and I pretty much did exactly as instructed:
    http://www.elfin8er.net/tutorials/bukkit-for-dummies/commands/

Any help on this topic would be greatly appreciated.

PS. I accidently deleted a line "return true;" on line 28, please ignore that error

my plugin.yml file is as follows:

name: MyFirstPlugin
    main: myPlugin.myFirstPlugin
    version: 1.0
    commands:
    hello:
    description: It replies with a greeting.
    usage: /<command>

#1 sahil04, May 20, 2016
    Last edited: May 20, 2016
  2. You messed up the onCommand parameters. It should be this.
    Code (Text):
    public boolean onCommand(CommandSender sender, Command cmd, String arg, String[] args) {