Optimal Item Price Layout

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by Hunky524, Jun 15, 2016.

1. I wanted to get some opinions on how I can save a large quantity of price data for my server. What I am trying to get your opinion on is how I can/should save and load ItemStack price data. The reason I don't want to just simply store materials is because I want to be able to adjust prices based on enchantments, durability, and custom attributes (don't really worry about the custom attributes, I'm more focused on getting enchantments and durability working at the moment). I know how to serialize items and I've made my own serializers in the past. I'm wondering if that is still the best option or if some kind of database structure would work much better for this. I've never worked with databases before, but I'm hoping if someone who has worked with both storing data in configs and databases might be able to give me their opinion on how they would store this kind of data.

If anything is unclear I can rephrase.

2. Save the item under a specific item name then add an extra thing so when you do config.getItemStack(section) you can also do config.getInt(section + ".price"); then you'll have an itemstack and price, I'm not sure how "Efficient" this is but I know it's a good way to do it, then on startup just store all the itemstacks into a hashmap, if you have a double item just skip it and don't put it into the map.

I think that would be your best bet.

3. I would take a slightly different approach. Assigning prices for every variant of item in the game is way too tedious. I would make the different variations apply a variation function to the base price of the material. Then just store the base prices for a material (or material data) and apply the appropriate functions from there.