Passing parameters and returning data to/from Runnable

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by zeronerve, Dec 6, 2018 at 4:07 PM.

1. Hi I have a MySQL database from which I'm pulling player data for leaderboards. Since the leaderboards are built each time a Lobby is created, this might happen during gameplay, so I need a way to run the getLeadersByPoints(int max, other params) method asynchronously, which should return an ArrayList<PlayerDAO>.

My question is twofold: How can I pass parameters into an async thread or runnable? What approach can I take to "return" the ArrayList so that it can be used to populate leaderboards? Futures? Callbacks? I have no experience with either. All of this works wonderfully on the main thread, except for the potential lag.

Code (Text):
    public class GetLeaders {

public static ArrayList<LeaderDAO> getLeadersByPoints(int max) {

ArrayList<LeaderDAO> leaderList = new ArrayList<>();

//get data from MySQL

return leaderList;
    }

...is being called from the Lobby class ...
    Code (Text):

private void createLeaderboard(Location leaderboardLoc) {

leaders = GetLeaders.getLeadersByPoints(20);

2. I handle my async msql queries with a ExecutorService and a Consumer Callback:
    you create a Thread Pool with the Executor and in a query method (with your statement and a consumer as parameter) you call the execute function which basically calls the accept function of the consumer.
    Code (Java):
    // your mysql class which handles the connection to the database
    // ....
    ExecutorService executor = Executors.newCachedThreadPool();
    // ....
    public void query(String statement, Consumer<ResultSet> consumer)
    {
          executor.execute(() ->
          {
                ResultSet result = connectionVar.prepareStatement(statement).executeQuery();
                Bukkit.getScheduler().runTask(pluginVar, () -> consumer.accept(result));
          });
    }
    // ....