Plugin Help and Advice.

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by Aeryes, May 15, 2016.

1. Hey guys,

So, today I finished the first part of my first ever Spigot plugin and I was wondering if you guys would be able to take some time to view it and give me some tips on improvements, mistakes and anything else that you might see.

The plugin at this moment is just a simple Broadcast plugin with a root command and a help command. I have also added a player join and rejoin event. The config that is created is the next part of my plugin where I hope to allow users to set custom join and rejoin messages. I will be moving onto this section tomorrow.

I have done my best to tidy up my code as best as I could. I am new to Java in general and more especially the Spigot community. I have ran servers etc in the past but only recently have I dived into making plugins and using what I learn to jump start me into the programming world, so go easy on me and help me out :) !!

Thank you very much for your time guys and I hope my work is of decent standard.
    Below is a github link to my repository for the plugin source code.

Source (https://github.com/Aeryes/AnnounceIt.git).

Thank you,
    Aeryes.

2. In your listener class, you could've done

if (!(player.hasPlayedBefore() {

}

Besides that, just work on some formatting, was a pain reading some of that.

• Useful Useful x 1
  3. So this doesn't actually affect your code, just the fact to clean it up a bit.
    https://github.com/Aeryes/AnnounceI...ouceit/AnnounceIt/PlayerListener.java#L18-L24 these are unnecessary line returns, you should remove them. A class shouldn't have the world 'Class' in it, you might want to rename that to Permissions.
    Overall, you should review the tabs you put here https://github.com/Aeryes/AnnounceI...n/java/com/annouceit/AnnounceIt/Commands.java .

In eclipse, you can use CTRL+SHIFT+F to format the code automatically, that will most likely do the majority of the job for you.