1.15.2 Protocol API Entitymeta help

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by LukeEff, Jan 22, 2020.

1. Hi, I'm quite new to NMS/Protocol API and giving it my best shot to learn, but am having some difficulty with Entitymeta. I do not have much knowledge of the API yet and don't know what I'm doing too well yet, so try to give me a bit of patience :) (I've watched a tutorial and read through the introduction, it just hasn't entirely "clicked" per-say.)

What I'm trying to do: The goal here is to set a player to glowing through packets, for X amount of time, visible to any player I specify

With some googling and a bit of mental power, I was able to get a player to glow, but as soon as the player sprinted, they stopped glowing. I believe this might be because the metadata of the player is changing? I did so with this code (Pretty much copy pasted from https://www.spigotmc.org/threads/simulating-potion-effect-glowing-with-protocollib.218828/):

Code (Java):
        private void setGlowing() {

pm.addPacketListener(new PacketAdapter(this, ListenerPriority.NORMAL, PacketType.Play.Server.UPDATE_HEALTH) {

@Override
                public void onPacketSending(PacketEvent event) {
                    Player player = event.getPlayer();
                    PacketContainer packet = pm.createPacket(PacketType.Play.Server.ENTITY_METADATA);
                    packet.getIntegers().write(0, player.getEntityId()); // Set packet's entity id
                    WrappedDataWatcher watcher = new WrappedDataWatcher(); // Create data watcher, the Entity Metadata
                                                                            // packet requires this
                    Serializer serializer = Registry.get(Byte.class); // Found this through google, needed for some stupid
                                                                        // reason
                    watcher.setEntity(player); // Set the new data watcher's target