Question for programmers that work for large companies (ie. Google, Microsoft)

Discussion in 'Programming' started by john01dav, May 3, 2015.

1. Hello! I'm curious what a developer with the following specifications could get as a starting salary/wage at a company.

Specifications:
    - Self-taught Java
    - Self-taught PHP
    - Self-taught MySQL
    - No professional experience (ie. working at a programming company)
    - Experience in making plugins here on Spigot (they may not care about this, they may, I really have no idea)
    - With or without JSP knowledge (please include both numbers if this matters in most cases)
    - Some small open source projects

I'm not looking to get an actual job anywhere, at least not right now, but I am curious about what kind of money people in development actually make. Also, I tried searching for this, but the only listings I found were for developers who had some sort of degree and weren't self-taught and/or already had experience working somewhere else.

2. First degree, then job. Mostly works.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. If a person already taught themself one or more programming languages, what is the purpose of a degree (other than proving you know how to program, but open source projects should do that as well).

4. joshwenke

Wiki Team

I've found that on-the-job work beats anything else. Having that on a resume is much better during the hiring process. We looked at a few candidates and the ones that even had so much as an internship made the next round.

5. Would published open source projects count as such work? These projects would just be a single developer doing them, with maybe a few pull requests.

6. dtm

dtm Retired Moderator
    Retired Supporter

From what I've been heavily told / noticed in life - a degree will un-doubtly help your chances of getting a job / getting a better salary.

• Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1