Server Monitoring

Discussion in 'Server & Community Management' started by graywolf336, Jul 28, 2013.

1. graywolf336

Supporter

I've been running a server for a little over two years now and it hasn't been anything fancy, nothing big, just a good ole Towny server with a good community. I can't complain about donations as we've received plenty to take care of our monthly bills and such, but during these years of running a server the area that I've always lacked and am looking to pick up my slack in is server monitoring and so I'm curious what everyone else uses or if anyone else uses anything.

Right now I use two things, the first is a simple alerting deal that my hosting provider provides which is port checking and bandwidth monitoring. I've setup the port monitor to monitor the default Minecraft port (we don't use bungee since we're a smaller server of ~30-50 people) and then I have it send me hourly emails on the bandwidth usage. I've found that the bandwidth is nice to have and monitor as I can usually tell when a lot of people have been on because the used bandwidth goes up a lot and the simple port monitor isn't too bad but it's just that - simple.