1.14.4 Simple Rank / Permissions

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by Hampion, Mar 28, 2020.

1. Hello there,

I am fairly new to the Spigot API. I have been testing around trying to make a rank plugin that also enables groups to have permissions. For the start I was planning just to do all the permissions via config. I have set it up so far that I can set players ranks and that's all great. When it came to the permissions part I am very much clueless. I have given an attempt and managed to get the permissions working on a HashMap. However this is not really working properly and it seems that the groups are not really identified as they all get the same permissions, can't tell what I am doing wrong. Below you will find my source code, I really hope someone can help me out here! Thanks!

MAIN - https://pastebin.com/dvryPryk

PLAYERMANAGER - https://pastebin.com/wUfN6wUn

^^ I also have an event and the rank command but didn't think they would be necessary.

My config.yml looks like this:

Groups:
    guest:
    permissions:
    - tutorial.blockbreak

(No matter the if add new groups to that it still does not work and adds all the permissions for every group on each player).

I know I am probably doing something stupid, so please try not to take offence or anything! Thank you all.

2. Remember that the white space in YAML matters a lot. Next time, post the config in src brackets so we can see the whitespace because as it stands, you have three nodes, "Groups" "guest" and "permissions" not the tiered thing you are look for ("guest" below groups etc.). Just an FYI if you ever need to post your config again.