1.7.10 Snowball change positions

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by BloodChain, Mar 18, 2020.

1. Hello, I need help to make my plugin, what I want to do is the following:

When player 1 throws a snowball with a customname to another player 2, they exchange positions.

I need detailed explanation on how to do this since I am not a java professional.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I also need other help, and that is that netbeans does not show me Spigot's suggestions, for example import event, import Player, etc.

#1 BloodChain, Mar 18, 2020
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2020
  2. Listen to the EntityDamageByEntityEvent and check whether EntityDamageByEntityEvent#getEntity() is a Player. If yes, cast it to a Player. Then check whether EntityDamageByEntityEvent#getDamager() is a Snowball. If yes, cast it to a Snowball and check whether Snowball#getShooter() is a Player. If yes, cast it to a Player. Then, exchange the location of the two players.

3. I don't know why it won't let me get the snowball shooter, when I try to do snowball#getShooter() the getShooter() method is marked in red.

Code (Text):
    @EventHandler
        public void snowballHit(EntityDamageByEntityEvent e){

FileConfiguration messages = plugin.getCustomMessagesConfig();

Entity entity = e.getEntity();

if(entity instanceof Player){
                Player hitBySnowball = (Player) entity;

if(e.getDamager() instanceof Snowball){

Snowball snowball = (Snowball) e.getDamager();

if(snowball.getShooter() instanceof Player){

}
                }

}

}

4. The method probably does not exist because you use 1.7. That is the problem when you use a medieval version...

5. Code (Java):
    @EventHandler

Projectile snowball = (Projectile) e.getDamager();

Player shooter = (Player) snowball.getShooter();

hitBySnowball.teleport(shooter);