[SOLVED] Trouble setting up new Bukkit/Spigot plugin

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Help' started by PureTryOut, May 28, 2015.

1. So i'm new in all of this. I'm trying to set up a new Bukkit/Spigot plugin project in Eclipse.
    I've installed Maven, made the basic plugin files using this tutorial. However, i'm stuck with creating the first class file.
    "The import org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPlugin" can not be found. It also gives "JavaPlugin can not be resolved to a type".

After some digging I found this video which tells me I have to build the Maven project with "clean install" as goal. Doing that fails in not being able to resolve the dependencies.
    I have the following in pom.xml, partly taken from here:
    <repositories>
    <repository>
    <id>spigot-repo</id>
    <url>https://hub.spigotmc.org/nexus/content/groups/public/</url>
    </repository> </repositories>
    <dependencies>
    <dependency>
    <groupId>org.spigot</groupId>
    <artifactId>spigot-api</artifactId>
    <version>1.8.6-R0.1-SNAPSHOT</version>
    <type>jar</type>
    <scope>provided</scope>​
    </dependency> </dependencies>

I changed it around quite a lot already but it won't work. From what I understand the correct dependencies are not in the repository as it has copyright issues (I know most of the story, no need to explain it here). I however have no clue how to use my own jar I build with BuildTools.jar...

What can I do about this so I can start experimenting with writing a plugin?

#1 PureTryOut, May 28, 2015
    Last edited: May 28, 2015
  2. Have you added the spigot jar to your build path?

3. Well like I said, I have no idea how to do that.