Some info please Gentlemen/Ladies

Discussion in 'Spigot Discussion' started by Mineoz, Jun 6, 2015.

1. Hi Guys,
    I have been visiting this website for many years (not just this account) and have never really known what Spigot is.

When I say this I mean is it like Craftbukkit? or is Spigot like a whole new "Craftbukkit? I don't mean to offend the devs by any means. I ask this because I currently run 5 servers, all running Craftbukkit which is slowly dieing with the releases of MC, almost every new version of MC released I need to update plugins or either plugins simply don't work, I need something more stable, and you guys seem to update spigot all the time

Is Spigot like Craftbukkit in that is runs off the same sort of plugins, same sort of concept as bukkit?

I would really appreciate it if someone could inform me of exactly what spigot does.

I am 51 years old (yes truth) so Im no kid, but at the same time I would really appreciate if you would give me the "old man" explanation and keep it simple

No I am not joking about being 51, I was born on 22 Oct 1964 in Sydney Australia (Bondi beach), I have been in the Australian Army now (still serving) for 25 years, I joined at the age of 26 in 1990, and have server in East Timor, Iraq, and 2 tours of Afghanistan, Phew almost ready to retire mine you!

2. I just did a search for Spigot servers and my fav server came up, OMG

3. Spigot is an optimized version of Bukkit/Craftbukkit with some functionalities added. But you can use Bukkit plugins on Spigot and vice versa

4. There's some info about Spigot here, on the Wiki :)

5. Thank you guys much appreciated

6. Thanks Dan That really cleared it up mate, that was exactly waht I was looking for, so thank you.

If you wouldn't mind I have just two more questions:

1. Is spigot installed on hosted servers the same way as craftbukkit, by changing the spigot-1.8.7.jar to minecraft_server.jar