Resource Spigot Plugin Template For Beginners

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by creepinson, Jul 10, 2018.

1. Hey everyone. Recently, I made a simple plugin template for complete beginners. It contains a bunch of comments for understanding the basics. This template is made for beginners. Feel free to use it anywhere, as long as you credit me.
    Here is the link to the GitHub page:
    I recommend you go to the 1.12 branch, as the master one isn't fully updated.
    - Creepinson

#1 creepinson, Jul 10, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 10, 2018
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Oof literally distributing the entire spigot jar

#2 xTrollxDudex, Jul 10, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 10, 2018
    • Agree Agree x 3
  3. Reported for illegal software distribution.

• Funny Funny x 1
  4. Choco

• Template#L24: Explicit declaration of private is recommended, though either way, there is literally no purpose to this field. You're effectively cloning a reference to the already existing "description" field retrievable by JavaPlugin#getDescription(). Remove the field all together.
    • Template#L27: Ever heard of "this"? Either way... why are the fields being set onDisable()?
    • Template#L26 & 40: Should have @Override annotations over all methods you override from super classes. It's a useful compiler hint
    • PathfinderUtil: Doesn't this seem a bit excessive for a "template for begginers"? We're talking about people who hardly understand what onEnable() is and you're throwing them into the deep end with obfuscated NMS and reflection
    • ExampleCommand#L27: There are more than just console senders. Every single entity in the game (and command blocks) are also command senders that may be passed to that function. You should ensure that !(sender instanceof Player) instead to guarantee that a player is sending.