stop leads from dropping

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by xlis1, May 5, 2017.

1. is there a way to prevent leads from dropping when broken?

2. try using a BlockBreakEvent

3. but its not a block, and its not being broken

4. I've never used leads before so I don't really know what they are, but in your post you said 'is there a way to prevent leads from dropping when broken', but then proceeded to say 'it's not being broken', kind of contradictory. What breaks to give a lead? Or does the lead break as you use it or something over time? I'm not sure

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. Leads are an entity if i am right so it has an own entity factory,,

https://hub.spigotmc.org/javadocs/spigot/org/bukkit/entity/LeashHitch.html

6. Unfortunately there is no easy way to do this. The entity Item for the lead is created and spawned into the world after the EntityUnleashEvent is called and finished.

Some NMS from EntityInsentient.java showing where the event gets fired from:
    Code (Text):
    protected void cV() {
        if (this.bF != null) {
            this.da();
        }

if (this.bD) {
            if (!this.isAlive()) {
                this.world.getServer().getPluginManager().callEvent(new EntityUnleashEvent(this.getBukkitEntity(), UnleashReason.PLAYER_UNLEASH)); // CraftBukkit
                this.unleash(true, true);
            }

if (this.leashHolder == null || this.leashHolder.dead) {
                this.world.getServer().getPluginManager().callEvent(new EntityUnleashEvent(this.getBukkitEntity(), UnleashReason.HOLDER_GONE)); // CraftBukkit
                this.unleash(true, true);
            }
        }
    }