Suggestion Support for 'ancient' version

Discussion in 'Community Feedback and Suggestions' started by AlphaHelix, Feb 7, 2018.

1. Personally, as a developer, I think there should be some kind of slow phasing out of support for old Minecraft versions. So, in my opinion, only the latest and possibly the previous version should be supported for a short time. For example, support for versions 1.8 / 1.9 and 1.10 should now be discontinued.
    I would like to see a small limitation for the above-mentioned versions.
    • Agree Agree x 6
    • Funny Funny x 6
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  2. No, just no. There are still many servers using 1.8, that was the period before Minecraft died.
    • Funny Funny x 3
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 3
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. md_5

Administrator Developer

Spigot flat out doesn't support anything < 1.12.2
    It's not us you have to convince, it's other developers and server owners.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. Who said there was still support for them now? If you're going to try and stop plugins from supporting it then that's hilarious.
    Edit: Ninja'd
  5. It's not about the plain Spigot version. It's about the plugins. They won't be changing out of the blue.
  6. [​IMG]
    Still using Minecraft 1.8 is as hilarious as still using Java 7, but I won't drop support for it if it comes to my own plugins. I imagine people like you would just use the latest version that still supports 1.8 and spam me with bug reports for this ancient dev build...
    • Agree Agree x 2
  7. Relinquished

Why do you care if someone wants to use an older version? Or if someone wants to add compatibility with an older version for their plugin. It's not hurting anyone.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1