Switching Host - Need Advice

Discussion in 'Server & Community Management' started by SpaZMonKeY777, Jul 23, 2013.

1. SpaZMonKeY777

Wiki Team

Hello Spigot Family!

Long story short, our current host we have had for over a year has had major network issues after a migration of data centers, and their support has been terrible through it. So we finally settled on a new host, they offered a great price and have a good reputation. But this is my first time transferring large amounts of files from host to host, so I had some questions...

Question #1:
    What is the best method of transferring all our data from our old dedi's to the new dedi's? At first I was thinking to back them up locally and upload them on the new machines, but that could take a long time (Multiple 10gb maps and large database files). Since these machines are on CentOS, would it be better to use some method of transferring from dedi to dedi? I still consider myself a noob to linux, so if someone could provide some info on that, I imagine it would help a lot!

Question #2:
    Currently I am running 2 Intel Xeon E3-1230's 3.2ghz dedi's, and our new host offers the same. BUT they also have some better options... Would any of these other options really provide a noticeable increase in performance based on increase in price per month?
    - Xeon E3 1270 V2 - 3.5Ghz (+$24/month)
    - Xeon E3 1290 V2 - 3.7Ghz (+$85/month)
    - Xeon E3 1270 V3 - 3.5Ghz (+$32/month)
    - Xeon E3 1280 V3 - 3.6Ghz (+$80/month)

So what's your experience with these CPU's? Any specific one outshine the other? Any advice is greatly appreciated :)

Question #3:
    I can't really think of a 3rd question, but I am open to any other friendly advice while transferring hosts. Speed bumps I may run into that I need to look out for or plan ahead on. Don't want to be in mid-transfer and face-palm real hard because I forgot something crucial.

Thanks for reading, and any advice is appreciated!

#1 SpaZMonKeY777, Jul 23, 2013