The Right Hosting Company

Discussion in 'Hosting Advice' started by Bluephoenixxb, Apr 30, 2017.

1. Does anyone know of a good hosting company to fit these specs? I'm a noob and I don't know what any of these terms mean like VPS and dedicated so please help?
    Budget:30$-40$
    BungeeCord:Yes
    Plugins:50-70
    Players:50-100
    Ram:4gbs
    Amnt of servers: 5-7
    If I'm stupid please tell me I'm very new
    Also whats a VPS and Dedicated mean?? and is ScalaCube a good choice it seems like it is 3$/1GB of ram?

2. With a dedicated server you get the entire machine to your self. It's essentially a powerful computer located in a datacenter somewhere that's all yours to use. VPS stands for virtual private server, and with this you're given a "chunk" of a larger dedicated server shared with other VPSes. VPSes are cheaper and are a great starting point unless you've got too many players for a little VPS to handle. Chances are if you don't know what these are you don't know how to use them. Of course there's no reason you shouldn't try to learn how to use these, however if you're just looking to get a small/medium Minecraft server set up with minimal work look into shared MC hosting. There are plenty of good ones out there. Do your research whichever route you take, and remember to not just go after the cheapest offering. If you have questions about a specific host you're looking at feel free to ask here and I'm sure there's a lot of us with experience with the host in question and can give you some good feedback.

3. What does anyone have on ScalaCube? They seem trustworthy but I don't want to get scammed.

4. If you want 50-100 plugins and 50-100 players, you would obviously need more than 4 GB. Plus, you want an entire bungeecord network. There's a good chance that you will need about 12GB+ total since
    a) one Spigot server runs about 768MB by itself
    b) some players tend to do a lot of exploring, meaning more RAM
    c) some plugins are pretty big...