"this" in public static

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by Swedz, Jun 4, 2016.

1. Hi there, I'm fairly new to Java, and I'm trying to make a public static String that returns the player count of any server I want. This code is in the API.java class, where my main code is in Lobby.java (I want to use getBungeePlayers() in Lobby.java, note that there is nothing wrong with anything else. Simply just at "this")

My current code is:
    Code (Text):
    public static int specificPlayerCount = 0;
    public static int globalPlayerCount = 0;
    public void onEnable() {
        Bukkit.getServer().getMessenger().registerIncomingPluginChannel(this, "BungeeCord", this);
        Bukkit.getServer().getMessenger().registerOutgoingPluginChannel(this, "BungeeCord");
    }
    public static String getBungeePlayers(String server) throws Exception {
        ByteArrayOutputStream b = new ByteArrayOutputStream();
        DataOutputStream out = new DataOutputStream(b);

if(server.equalsIgnoreCase("global")) {
            server = "ALL";
        }

out.writeUTF("PlayerCount");
        out.writeUTF(server);
        Bukkit.getServer().sendPluginMessage(this, "BungeeCord", b.toByteArray());

return globalPlayerCount + "";
    }
    @Override
    public void onPluginMessageReceived(String channel, Player player, byte[] message) {
        if(!channel.equals("Bungeecord")) {
            return;
        }
        try {
            DataInputStream in = new DataInputStream(new ByteArrayInputStream(message));
            String subchannel = in.readUTF();
            if(subchannel.equals("PlayerCount")) {
                String server = in.readUTF();
                if(server.equalsIgnoreCase("ALL")) {
                    globalPlayerCount = in.readInt();
                } else {
                    specificPlayerCount = in.readInt();
                }
            }
        } catch (Exception e) {
            e.printStackTrace();
        }

}