Thoughts on starting a new server

Discussion in 'Server & Community Management' started by SeismicSquid, Sep 4, 2013.

1. Hello,

I'm kind of new to Spigot and I've been reading in a lot of places that advertising and starting a new server is getting harder and harder with the increasing market as well as other mega servers out there. I have administrated/owned a few servers before and know the basics, Linux administration, recruiting good staff, etc. But, what I don't have is experience with running a server with 50+ people online (a goal I want to reach). I've raised up a sum of money that can sustain the server for a while because I know that donations don't come until much later.

My main issue is hosting. I'm not quite sure where/how to start. I don't know how much RAM I'll use at launch, or whether to use a VPS or shared. Any thoughts on that?

Also, advertising is the key to success from what I've read and experience. Once, you have a quality server, you need to market it. Any tips on where to go, whether its worth paid advertising at start, and how to attract players?

Basically, I'm looking for general tips.

Any help is much appreciated! Thanks!

2. My main issue is hosting. I'm not quite sure where/how to start. I don't know how much RAM I'll use at launch, or whether to use a VPS or shared. Any thoughts on that?
    Start with maybe a 20 slot server and 1 gig of ram, save a bit of money and upgrade when you have to.

Also, advertising is the key to success from what I've read and experience. Once, you have a quality server, you need to market it. Any tips on where to go, whether its worth paid advertising at start, and how to attract players?
    Best attraction: good server
    Best advertising site: (I like the daily bump on PMC)

Basically, I'm looking for general tips.