Tips starting a server?

Discussion in 'Systems Administration' started by Krhiegen, Feb 11, 2020.

1. Hi, i'm a C# programmer and i'd like to have any tips of the most used plugins/resources in minecraft servers, what to worry, and as fast as possible which plugins/resources i have to use.

Ex: Of suggestion: (i found this two, to multi protocols)
    https://www.spigotmc.org/resources/protocolsupport.7201/
    https://www.spigotmc.org/resources/viaversion.19254/
    But i won't use it, because i'll focus only in one version.

I'm not lazy, i'll search, i just wanna a list of things to worry, i'll compile good tips in this topic.

ps: I already know how to put a server and plugins online, and i know the basic of server administrations, already had some servers of Tibia.

#1 Krhiegen, Feb 11, 2020
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2020
  2. Please do not use ViaVersion nor ProtocolSupport. If you make a version make it on a stable and unique version. Stop trying to please to everyone and make your server stable and without having to deal with old functionnalities and stuff

• Agree Agree x 4
  3. Thank you for the tip.
    indeed, you have a strong point and i already changed my mind, using only one version will be better to deal with broken plugins, and easier to update the server version.

@Maxx_Qc , what version do you recommend?

#3 Krhiegen, Feb 11, 2020
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2020
    • Like Like x 1
  4. I'm not sure if I agree with this. I'd do agree with not trying to please everyone since many people are still on 1.8 because they believe that it is "the best version" but it was released 5.5 years ago and we need to move away from it. However only limiting yourself to just 1 version will not work for most servers because then different servers will all use different versions.