Solved Trying to use player.(whatever) without command or event

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by Weber623, Jan 12, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I am fairly new to coding, and I made a loop that constantly runs a specific command. It is in its own class and is under public void run() { (code) }. I would like to use the player function, but I am not sure how to get it to register without using a Player player = (Player) sender; or a Player player = event.getPlayer(); and I can't use either because I don't have an event running. It's probably something simple that I couldn't figure out but I couldn't find anything about this. Any help would be appreciated :)

2. Use
    Code (Java):
    Bukkit.getOnlinePlayers()

• Useful Useful x 1
  3. Well, you would certainly help us by posting actual code since what you say is not really helpful...
    There are multiple ways of getting a player, the best is dependent on what your circumstances are. Are you in a player-based event? Use event.getPlayer(). Are you in a Command? Use
    Code (Java):
    if (commandSender instanceof Player) {
        Player player = (Player) commandSender;
        // ...
    }
    Do you want to retrieve the Player based on his UUID or name? Use
    Code (Java):
    Bukkit.getPlayer(UUID);
    Bukkit.getPlayer(String);
    Do you want to get every online player?
    Code (Text):
    Bukkit.getOnlinePlayers();
    As you see, there is not enough context to exactly know what you want

4. He’s using a runnable. He makes it obvious when he says “It’s in its own class and is in a public void run()”.

5. Ah, I see. Examples are only partially valid then

6. Code (Java):
        @Override
        public void run(){

for (Entity entity : player.getWorld().getEntities()) {
                if (entity.getLocation() == player.getEyeLocation()) {
                player.sendMessage("You're looking at an " + entity.getType() + "!");
                }
                }