Updating Damaging Darkness

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by Omanoctoa, Jun 14, 2018.

1. Hello Spigot!
    I'm not certain this is the correct place to ask this, but I'm not putting it in Recruitment yet. I'm using the spigot plugin DamagingDarkness - https://www.spigotmc.org/resources/damaging-darkness-anti-xray-solution.9137/ - to injure players as they enter lightless shadows. In this regards the plugin works great, but it has some major flaws. I've attempted to contact the dev in these regards to no avail, so I'm coming here.

I'd like to mention I have no experience with plugin development but I'd be happy to learn if it fixes this problem. Just not sure what I need to look for. Any help would be appreciated.

1) How would I go about adding a configuration option to toggle the message sent to players when they enter the darkness? Or could such a message be staggered so it only appears say, once every so many seconds instead of every time the player takes darkness damage?

2) How do I add a custom death message for when a player dies from the darkness. I'm sure I could change the vanilla death message when falling into the void for this, but a separate one would be more helpful.

3) Most importantly however... When a player is swimming, they take damage. This has huge implications as the moment a player goes underwater more than 1 block, they take damage. While this would be fine if it were deep under water, it doesn't work quite as well if someone simply jumps in a pond or their private swimming pool. Is it possible to set up a toggle in the config to cancel darkness damage in the water?

Thanks in advance,
    Omanoctoa

2. 1. I think an easy, yet good way to achieve this would be to send the message as an action bar message. The action bar doesn't spam but just makes a text that seems to be static.