Using mysql with tokens plugin.

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by avighnash, Jun 8, 2016.

1. I want to create a tokens plugin for my server that could be accessed throughout my bungecord instance. For that, I decided to use MySQL. But the only problem is that I do not know how to start. I have never used SQL before, so could someone explain to me how I should use it here, and what are the advantages of it? Also, how do I implement it into my code? I saw several tutorials but they use HikaryCP (wtf is dat) and other stuff.

Thanks!

2. I wouldn't use mysql for tokens. Mysql is for me too slow. Especially if you're going to have a lot of players.

What I did for the network where I was administration on, was that I got a Plugin on the bungee coord instance that has a list with all the tokens. It also listened to the Plugin messaging channel for a string for example that is basically a command. "Set player 1000" that would set the coins to 1000. And the same thing for add and remove. Then I would also have a get which sends back the coins.
    In the spigot plugin I keep a list of coins for myself. I listen for the coins returnEd from the bungee coord instance and save it.
    The only problem with this is that getting the coins takes about a tick. So you would have to work out a way to keep the coins accurate. You could do that bungee and spigot only sync coins when a player joins or leaves the server.

3. Have you even googled?

https://www.google.nl/webhp?sourcei...TF-8#q=how to use mysql in your plugin spigot

4. There are ways you can use JDBC with your own custom methods but making them as efficient as some libraries is going to be difficult, MySQL itself is a database management software. One of which i use on a daily basis, here are some refrences to learn the commands for MySQL

https://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.7/en/what-is-mysql.html
    http://www.w3schools.com/sql/