VPS from ExtraVM

Discussion in 'Hosting Advice' started by XxDragonSlayerxX, Jun 1, 2016.

1. So, im thinking to buy a VPS for our moderator MikeA, at ExtraVM. Only, i have zero experience with a VPS. Is someone willing to help me setup everything after i bought a VPS from him? :)

Thanks! :)

2. Shouldn't this be "from our moderator MikeA"? (Also, MikeA is retired) The way you wrote means that you are going to buy a VPS for MikeA... which doesn't make too much sense because MikeA is ExtraVM's owner.

3. Thanks for your useless reply.

4. Sorry, I was just correcting him before someone gets confused (like me).

5. I see. :p I didnt knew MikeA had a company. Is it any good?

6. Yes, he is the ExtraVM's owner, I use it and I recommend it (Also, I never seen someone complaining about ExtraVM here on Spigot, so...)

Now, before this gets too much offtopic:
    ExtraVM provides some tutorials about VPS and Linux on the Knowledgebase, here's one about installing Spigot on CentOS 6: https://extravm.com/billing/knowledgebase/20/Setup-Spigot-Minecraft-Server-on-CentOS-6.html

Seems complex the first time you try this, but it is actually very easy, and, if you are going just to host a Minecraft server, you will just need to do that one time, and, after the first time, just remember to use "screen -r" to return to the screen.

If you have any other issues, 99% of them can be easily fixed by looking up on Google ("how to create a folder in centos?", "how to rename a folder in centos?", etc... I still lookup those tutorials on Google because I always forget those things :p )

• Friendly Friendly x 1
  7. Don't forget to secure the server of course.

8. Protection? Who needs protection with the super amazing long and complex "password123" SSH root password? /s

9. MikeA

MikeA Retired Moderator
    Retired Benefactor