When, and When Not to use Deprecated methods.

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by FlailoftheLord, Sep 14, 2018 at 4:54 PM.

1. Well, this has kinda been a sketchy topic for me, as im a newer developer, still learning the Bukkit api and getting better with java at the same time, but one thing ive noticed as i only started coding with Bukkit during the 1.13 release, is that theres some methods that either have just been put into "deprecation" or have already been in deprecation for the past few Spigot versions, and for me, being super ocd or whatever, ive aways tried to use methods that arent deprecated, even if it costs more code.

But ive seen several big devs on here saying that deprecated doesnt mean "dont use this anymore" just a warning, "hey! theres a new method out which does the same thing, use that instead."

Especially with the huge UUID overhaul in 1.8 i dont feel safe using the getPlayer(String) anymore, mainly because its deprecated, cause i was wondering when i put that into a plugin i was making and my IDE told me it was deprecated...( my first thought was whats deprecated... jk.)

Is it always fine to use Deprecated methods, when would it be alright or, maybe not safe to use a deprecated method that you know and is easier to use than the newer method that "does the same thing" and was implemented in a newer version of Bukkit?

2. Deprecated methods should be avoided if possible. Deprecated methods etc are basically marked 'unimportant'. They will no longer get updated or changed and may at some point get removed completely. Some of them may still work but they are not supported anymore.

3. Essentially, don't use deperacated methods unless you must. Such methods are discouraged (hence why they are deprecated) from use and there is no guarantee they will still be there in the future.

• Agree Agree x 1
  4. Methods are in general to be marked as deprecated when they