Why do spigot and forge not work together

Discussion in 'Spigot Help' started by Fraserofsmeg, Feb 24, 2020.

1. A few brief clarifications: (a) I'm not asking anyone to fix the issue, I'm trying to understand and (b) I'm talking about the software not the companies behind it.

I naively wanted to setup a server and use some plugins (spigot) and a mod (forge). I now understand that I might as well have tried to paint the Mona Lisa with my toes. I accept that this isn't doable, but I have some semi-technical questions to make sure I understand what's going on (FYI, I have some programming knowledge, but I know nothing of java):

Clarifications:
    1. Spigot plugins essentially work with the 'original' Minecraft and as such require this as their baseline to work off. They make no edits to the core code or functionality of Minecraft, but produce 'extra' content by using this core Minecraft code. (Yes or No?)
    2. Mods modify the Minecraft code in some way. They can contain completely original content (such as new items/sprites) that isn't directly drawn from minecraft. (Yes or No?)

Questions:
    3. If a mod *doesn't* change the way Minecraft works, it just adds more content (eg. here's dirtblock 2.0, twice as dirty) would spigot plugins be able to work with this mod?
    4. Assuming a plugin uses certain Minecraft functionality that a mod doesn't alter, can a mod alter other functionality without it effecting the way the plugin works? [eg. if I have two functions, one that adds two number and one that subtracts two numbers, and the plugin uses the addition function but the mod modifies the subtraction function, would that cause issues? - oversimplification aside].